Photography: Cats

I’ve been looking for an opportunity to do volunteer work for a while now, and when I found out that I could take photos of cats for Seattle Humane I had to jump on it.

It’s been a fun opportunity to hone my skills with challenging subjects and settings. The cats can range from being overly friendly nuzzling way too close for a photo, to being extremely skittish and hiding behind anything they can. The lighting in most of the rooms at the shelter is terrible, but signs are posted everywhere that they must remain on. There are unblockable windows, and the cats don’t respond very well to flash. All in all, it’s been a fun set of challenges that have put me on the spot to improve my skills.

Here are some my furry subjects so far.

 

Update: 8/6/16
(These guys look like brothers)

 

And just because he’s SO cute, here’s a* pic of my kitty – Jean Luc PiCat:

*(I couldn’t pick just one, he’s cute from every angle)