Photography: Portraits

I’ve been working on my portraits, and had a couple of great sessions this weekend with this guy. Back off ladies, this sexy beast is mine.

The first three are from a home-studio session. This was a very DIY setup as I’m still acquiring studio gear (as in, I don’t have any right now!). I used a large china-ball lantern for key, bounce for fill, and a camping lantern/flashlight at approximately the same color temp for backlight. I wish I would have taken a picture of the setup. It wasn’t pretty, but my main objective was to play with light and overall I’m pleased with the results.

The rest of the pictures are from the beautiful Mercer Slough Park. One thing I learned through this experience was that I need to pay closer attention to glasses. Neither of us realized his glasses were sideways the majority of the time!  I think they got wonky when I had him tilt them to avoid reflection. So that’s a detail I’ll work on paying attention to in the future.

What are areas you’re seeking to improve in your photography? Got any lessons you’ve learned along the way? I’d love to hear about it in the comments section!

Leave a comment